Herschel Walker Speaks to Wounded Warriors and Airmen at San Antonio Air Force Base

SAN ANTONIO-LACKLAND, Texas — Former NFL running back and Heisman Trophy winner, Herschel Walker, visited Airmen and wounded warriors on October 23 at the Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgical Center at the Joint Base San Antinio-Lackland, Texas (AFNS). Walker spoke to more than 200 Airmen about his life as a boy, leading up to his college and NFL days. He also discussed the challenges he faced with Dissociative Identity Disorder, or DID, more commonly known as multiple personality disorder.

Photo shows Herschel Walker speaking to more than 200 personnel from the 59th Medical Wing Oct. 23, 2013, at the Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgical Center, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas.(U.S. Air Force photo/Staff Sgt. Jerilyn Quintanilla)

Photo shows Herschel Walker speaking to more than 200 personnel from the 59th Medical Wing Oct. 23, 2013, at the Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgical Center, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas.(U.S. Air Force photo/Staff Sgt. Jerilyn Quintanilla)

... Read More

Which NFL Greats Will Be Inducted Into the Pro Football Hall of Fame?

The preliminary list of modern-era nominees for induction in 2010 in the Pro Football Hall was recently released and it’s loaded with big names. Headlining the list are Jerry Rice and Emmitt Smith, two of the greatest players in NFL history.

Will Jerry Rice and Emmitt Smith make it into Pro Football Hall of Fame?

NFL greats  Jerry Rice and Emmitt Smith are top contenders for the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Other nominees include Tim Brown, Herschel Walker, Andre Reed, Cris Carter, Sterling Sharp and former commissioner Paul Tagliabue.

Smith is the NFL’s all-time rushing leader. He is the only running back to ever win a Super Bowl championship, the NFL MVP award, the NFL rushing title and the Super Bowl MVP award in the same season. He is also one of four running backs to lead the NFL in rushing three or more consecutive seasons, joining Steve Van Buren, Jim Brown, and Earl Campbell.

Rice is considered the greatest wide receiver in NFL history and is the all-time leader in every major statistical category at his position. He was a 13-time Pro Bowler and won three Super Bowl titles with the San Francisco 49ers.

Walker enjoyed a long career with four teams, including two stints with the Dallas Cowboys.  In 12 NFL seasons, Walker gained 8,225 rushing yards, 4,859 receiving yards, and 5,084 kickoff-return yards. This gave him 18,168 total combined net yards, ranking him second among the NFL’s all-time leaders in total yardage at the time of his retirement.

They join two previously announced senior nominees, former Denver Broncos running back Floyd Little and Detroit Lions cornerback Dick LeBeau. For Little, the nomination was an emotional moment, one that he’s been waiting for a long time. My wife and I just looked at one another, and we both saw tears in our eyes,” Little said after hearing the news. “We talked about how my son Marc wrote a letter to The Denver Post 25 years ago, explaining my disappointment (with not being elected) and to ask, ‘Why?’ So after 25 years, it’s hard to believe this is happening.”

Little still needs to receive 80 percent of the votes for induction, but history is on his side. Since 1996, 16 of the 18 senior candidates nominated have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Little was one of the first great all-purpose backs in the NFL. When he retired in 1975 after playing his entire career with the Broncos, Little had amassed 6,323 yards rushing and was seventh all-time in rushing yards behind Jim Brown, Jim Taylor, Joe Perry, O.J. Simpson, Leroy Kelly, and John Henry Johnson.

The nomination list includes 131 players, coaches and contributors. The  25 semifinalists will be selected by November 27 and the 15 finalists by January 7. Voting will take place on February 6, the day before the Super Bowl.

PFP Sports and Celebrity Talent Agency is a top sports speakers bureau and booking agent for sports speakersfootball speakers, athlete appearances and endorsements. For more information call 800.966.1380

Is Tim Tebow The Greatest College Player Ever?

Tim Tebow Florida Gators

Tim Tebow Florida Gators

With the college football season right around the corner, one thing is guaranteed – people are once again talking about Tim Tebow, the quarterback for the Florida Gators. If you listen to the media, Tebow is too good to be true. Not only is he a talented football player, he’s also incredibly humble, very philanthropic and just an all-around good guy.

I was watching tv a couple of weeks ago and heard a journalist jokingly report that Tebow had just counted to infinity twice. That’s the superman-like persona he’s acquired.

On the football field, it’s hard to argue with his greatness. In his three years at Florida, he’s won two NCAA National Championships, won the Heisman Trophy in 2007 and is a two-time All-American. He’s also won the Maxwell Award as the nation’s top collegiate player twice, one of only two players to achieve that feat.

So is Tebow the greatest college player ever? If he wins a second Heisman or leads the Gators to a third national title in four years, it will be hard to dispute. In the meantime, below are a few more greats to consider…

Archie Griffin agentArchie Griffin….He was a running back at Ohio State from 1972-75 and was a three-time All-American. He is the only player to win the Heisman Trophy twice and the only player to start in four Rose Bowls. He rushed for one thousand yards three times –  1,428 yards as a sophomore, 1,620 yards as a junior and 1,357 yards as a senior. He set an NCAA rushing record of 31 consecutive 100-yard games rushing. His career rushing total of 5,177 yards was an NCAA record at the time.

Herschel Walker agent

Herschel Walker…A running back at Georgia from 1980-83, Walker set an NCAA freshman rushing record and led Georgia to the NCAA National Championship in 1980. He was a consensus All-American for three consecutive years and set 10 NCAA records, 15 SEC records and 30 Georgia all-time records. He won the Heisman Trophy in 1982.

Dick Butkus agentDick Butkus…Considered among the greatest linebackers in college football history, Butkus played linebacker at Illinois from 1962-64. He was named the Big 10 MVP in 1963 and the AFCA Player of the Year in 1964. Butkus also finished sixth in Heisman Trophy balloting in 1963 and third in 1964, a remarkable achievement given his position. He is one of only two players to have his number retired by Illinois and is the namesake for the award given annually to the nation’s top collegiate linebacker.

Tony Dorsett agentTony Dorsett…He was a running back at Pittsburgh from 1973-76 and led the Panthers to a NCAA National Championship in 1976, a year in which he also won the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Award  and the UPI Player of the Year. Dorsett was a three-time All-American and finished his college career with 6,082 total rushing yards, a NCAA record at the time. In 2007, he was ranked #7 on ESPN’s Top 25 Players In College Football History list.

PFP Sports and Celebrity Talent Agency is a sports booking agent for football speakers,  sports motivational speakers, athlete appearances, endorsements and celebrities. For more information call 800.966.1380